What Phlebotomy Technicians Do
A Phlebotomy Technician is a key member of the medical laboratory team whose primary function is the collection of blood samples from patients by venipuncture or microtechiniques.” ~American Medical Technologists
ONLINE DELIVERY — In cooperation with the CDC’s recommendations, LFS guidelines, and recent governmental restrictions, and to ensure the quality of your training, THE DIDACTIC PORTION OF THE TRAINING IS BEING DELIVERED ONLINE. CONTACT any one of SIX LOCATIONS for details and registration: Bakersfield, Fresno, Lancaster, Oxnard, Santa Maria or Visalia
CTI’s Phlebotomy Technician program has obtained the license to operate from:
- Ventura County Medical Association
- State of California’s Laboratory Field Services
- American Medical Technologists (AMT)
- Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education
CTI’s Phlebotomy Technician Program course will prepare the graduate with the necessary skills for employment as a Certified Phlebotomy Technician in a variety of medical occupations:
Health Care Support Workers all others
Clinical Laboratory Technologists
Laboratory Assistant Blood and Plasma
Centrifuge Operator Plasma Processing
CTI’s REQUIREMENTS before you can draw blood:
- Pass A Written Cert. Exam
- Skin Punctures
- Hrs Clinical Turning At A State-Approved Lab
- Hrs Of Didactic Training
All Phlebotomists must be LICENSED through the Department of Health Services, Laboratory Field Services Division in order to maintain employment as a Phlebotomist.
Effective April 9, 2003, all persons performing phlebotomy who are not doctors, nurses, or clinical lab scientists, must be certified as a phlebotomist before they can draw blood.
STATE CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS:
- Attend a phlebotomy training program that has been licensed by the State’s Laboratory Field Services Department.
- Complete a minimum of 40 hours of clinical training at a State-Licensed lab. (CTI requires 64 Hours didactic training, 40 Hours clinical training at a State-LIcensed Lab, 50 venipunctures, 10 skin punctures)*
- Pass a written certification exam from an organization approved by the California Department of Health Services.
- State Application Fee $100
Once you have passed the National certification exam, you must submit the following to the State for certification:
- High School Transcript or GED
- CTI Certificate
- AMT Test Results ($120 Testing Fee)
- Proof of Clinical Hours Completed
*Proof of Clinical Hours Completed(California statute requires that students successfully completing a course of study be awarded the appropriate diploma or certificate. Graduates of CTI courses are awarded a certificate of completion upon successful completion of the program.
QUESTIONS REGARDING THE PROGRAM? CLICK HERE to see our FAQs.
NEED HELP with your school tuition? Apply for the HELP CARD–Financial assistance for funding your education which can also help you establish or repair your credit. You may be eligible for up to $10,000.00 in funding. Easy to apply–get results within 30 minutes. Click here for application.